3 days, 8 bouts, 1 unbeatable ending.

Christy Germain Cass photo

I’d never watched a roller derby tournament before, let alone announced one. But after calling all eight bouts at the first-ever three-day Triple D Tournament — right down to a nailbiting championship conclusion — it’s hard to imagine anything better.

It looked all but over as it came down to the final jam with the Oz Roller Girls trailing the very talented Ithaca Bluestockings in the championship game 126-117. The teams matched speed, strength, skill and smarts all bout long, but a late surge by Ithaca left Oswego calling timeout with about 40 seconds left. Time for one more jam, but what were the odds of Oz, playing its third game in three days, pulling the comeback win against such a great team?

But Oz would have done Houdini proud, with a thrilling escape. Jammer Masso-Kiss-Tic Mandy grabbed the lead for Oz and the Ithaca jammer went to the penalty box for a back block. That meant Mandy became the only player who could score points … and I tried to pass this info along to the audience without going too crazy on the mic. But we have a pretty well informed crowd, and as Mandy made her first pass for a grand slam (five points), the audience caught on. The Oz blockers found an extra burst of energy to get Mandy through. When she made a second pass, the crowd reached fever pitch … and at her third pass, to put Oz ahead, I thought the place (and my voice) was going to erupt. Mandy then called off the jam, the clock had run out and Oz somehow pulled off a 130-126 win for the first-ever Triple D Tournament title!

The whole tournament was enjoyable, although no games could compete with the title bout in excitement. I met, talked and shared stories with so many great teams. Some folks gave positive feedback on my announcing, especially the intros (I had to write about 50 of them in about an hour on Saturday morning), which was quite pleasing. By Sunday’s afterparty, players and coaches and volunteers chatted and mingled in a free, friendly way, reminding us that all of derby is like one big family.

And somehow my voice lasted through eight bouts in three days, even if at times I ran out of anything intelligent or intelligible to say. But when it wraps up in such amazing fashion, no words are really necessary anyway … the excitement itself tells the story.

13 responses to “3 days, 8 bouts, 1 unbeatable ending.

  1. Yup, no words could really capture it, although just reading yours today brought back just a touch of the excitement I felt watching that tourney play out, especially at the end!

    • I got excited just writing it, then reading it again. And it most certainly doesn’t do the scene justice. The word “wow” best sums it up.

  2. For an entire tournament made up of only freshly passed minimum level “B” teamers, they ALL certainly played like like A team pro’s! I was impressed with the level of play from all of the leagues represented. Unbelievable and well done by all.

    • Some of the skaters said they’d only been skating a few months, and I thought “that’s all?” Very good talent level, and even better people this weekend.

  3. Linda McMayhem

    That really surprises me this was your first time announcing. You did an excellent job, so well in fact I would have never known that was the first time you’ve ever done it. Thank you so much for your help @ the tournament.. You were great!!

    • Thanks for the kind words! Maybe I should have phrased it better: This is my first season of announcing, but the weekend was my first tournament as announcer (I’ve done doubleheaders at most). You were all so great to work with, which makes my job easy!

  4. Pingback: the loss of a skater is a blow to all derby. | My Strange Journey Into Roller Derby

  5. Pingback: saturday night derby fever: 2 cities, 11 hours, 175 miles. | My Strange Journey Into Roller Derby

  6. Pingback: … and then there was one. | My Strange Journey Into Roller Derby

  7. Pingback: oz roller girls year in review: 5 bouts to remember. « My Strange Journey Into Roller Derby

  8. Pingback: return to rochester, where it began. | my strange journey into roller derby

  9. Pingback: saturday: oz vs. bluestockings, the sequel. | Oz Roller Girls

  10. Pingback: Saturday: Oz vs. Bluestockings, the sequel | Oz Roller Girls

Leave a comment